WALK THE LINE

August 1, 2006 at 1:21 am (Movie/Media Reviews)

walkI finally got to sit down and enjoy Walk the Line. First, let me say what a fan I’ve become of Joaquin Phoenix. Second, let me say…Reese didn’t make as bad a brunette as I’d feared.

That said, it was difficult to tell when the real Man in Black was singing, and when it was Joaquin. Same with June Carter. Growing up, I was a huge fan of musical biographical movies. I adored Richie Valens (Lou Diamond Phillips played him). I loved Elvis and Me, Coal Miner’s Daughter, and any other movie of that sort I’m forgetting.

Maybe that’s why I enjoyed Walk the Line so much. It took me back to those days when movies just told stories and weren’t filled with explosions, sex, and violence. My kids actually sat and watched it with me. What a nice change.

Permalink Leave a Comment