Off Season by Jack Ketchum

April 18, 2007 at 8:57 am (Books I've Enjoyed)

If you’ve read any of my blogs, you’ve likely already found out that I love a good horror movie.

Well, this applies to books, as well. I grew up on Christopher Pike, R.L. Stine, and John Saul. Good stuff. I still read John Saul and the occasional Dean Koontz. But the goriest I’ve ever read from them were The Right Hand of Evil (Saul) and Strange Highway (I may be wrong on this title – by Koontz). Both were gory. Both were wonderfully scary.

And until recently, they might have been the scariest books I’ve read. It’s hard to get  realistic os.jpggore and terror down on paper, I think – probably much easier to do so on the big screen.

But man! I just finished reading Off Season by Jack Ketchum, the first of his books that I’ve ever read. I have to admit, the quote from Stephen King on the front cover of Off Season is partly the reason I bought it in the first place. Let’s face it. If Stephen King says “If you read this book at Thanksgiving, you won’t sleep again until Christmas,” the book HAS to be scary, right?

It started out interesting enough…. slowed down a bit as we were supposed to get to know the characters, so little happened. Then I finished the first third of the book, a little saddened that it was turning into another typical horror novel that afraid of offending readers by giving the details. I want the details, darn it. I want to be afraid to go to sleep….. and WHAM, reached the second third of the book.

I’m not even going to describe the plot of the book here, simply because it would sound like any B horror movie that’s come out lately. So I’ll simply say this… every scream, every fumbled run from the maniac that you see in those movies is ten times worse in Off Season, explained through the internalizations of the characters to the point where you’re short of breath while reading their experience.  Don’t read this if you want to be a little afraid. Don’t read this if violence or gore offends you.

But if you want a roller coaster experience of a good scary…SCARY…. book… check this one out. Then make sure you read it during the day…………..

Leave a Reply

